Daybook

writings in a planner
Photo by Bich Tran on Pexels.com

Out my Window: The moon and stars are beautiful. Although I prefer sunrises in the morning. Crisp air. Looking forward to the next few days of warmer temps.

Enjoying: Schlogging with music. Warmer temperatures more often. Birds chirping.

Listening to: Craig Groeschel’s leadership podcast interview with Horst Schulze https://www.life.church/leadershippodcast/q-a-excellence-wins-with-horst-schulze/  This one was labelled about the power of customer service but it was a fascinating one that really was about servanthood and empowerment.

Listened to two more Annie F. Downs That Sounds Fun. The one with Hollyn ended up being her sharing her story of the last year. Crazy and encouraging. Made me crave being around more people that are all in for Christ and listening closely for what He has for them. http://anniefdowns.libsyn.com/next-gen-episode-5-hollyn

Actually both episodes made me want deep, passionate community. The other one was with Shelly Giglio. http://www.anniefdowns.com/2018/10/08/that-sounds-fun-episode-106-shelley-giglio/

Mostly listened to music on my schloggs: King and Country, Crowder, and Heath McNease were popular with me this week, but did throw in a Tony Evans https://tonyevans.org/podcast/the-nature-of-the-battle/  “Worst chains are the ones you don’t know are on you.”

Reading: Still reading Michael Cards’ Inexpressible: Hesed and the Mystery of God’s Lovingkindness

Started and finished a book I have been wanting to read. Tatoos on the Heart: The Power of Boundless Compassion by Gregory Boyle. I love so much about this book. My heart aches and soars reading it. (If you decide to pick up a copy just be forewarned there is quite a bit of “language” due to the interaction and context of gangs in LA) So many lessons on loving well and allowing ourselves to be loved well, specifically by God. I shared a video awhile ago on my fb page that got me checking out this man and the ministry he is part of… https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zk–XN4ozr8&feature=share.  I highly recommend this book.

Pondering: The Tattoos on the Heart has me pondering how much my heart is drawn to this kind of ministry and life. I miss the Bowery Mission and prison ministry. Not sure what this is connected to in me, and what that means for me in my current context and future context.

Learning: Resonating with the messages of Father Greg and wanting what I see in him, and actually living these things are quite different. Realizing how much I have to learn in the settings I continue to be in, and get what God has here and now is imperative. I am reading about God’s deep love and pursuit and how this community is living it out and then someone in my setting is making so many foolish mistakes with lower stakes and I am terribly impatient. Realizing how much I am not ready for more responsibility until I can really get the concept of compassion and understanding that some people really do not know better. We were watching a baseball show and this one player was sharing how the other player had taught him how to pack and do road trips because he did not know how. It shocked me that this young adult could not know these things and made me realize how many people really do not know how to do certain things in life or why doing certain things might be wiser and save them trouble in the future. Learning as always, that the more I know, the less I really know. Thankful that God can still use even that.

Home: Keeping up. Next full day home setting up which things I want to accomplish. Trying to define it so that it will get done.

Fitness and Mental Health: Schlogging with the race in less than two weeks. My IT band and hip reminded me that I need to be persistent with working my core. Still doing pushup challenge. Not sure what day we are on but trying to add one a day. It feels so good to get back into moving. It is so important for me not just physically but also mentally and spiritually.

Giving Thanks: Sun shining, schlogging, my younger son got a job, laughing with friends through technology, getting to chat with my older son through the same technology, so good to see faces, and hear voices, unexpected note of joy from a long time friend, Dove chocolate from another, honesty, getting to see how God is pursing some friends in their lives, lunches with teens

Disclaimer: the Amazon links do link to my personal account and give me a small incentive for sharing from their page. The rest of the links are purely because I enjoy them and thought you might too.

Leave a comment