Better (FMF Link-up)

better
So for years I have read blogs that linked up with Five Minute Fridays. I finally have a blog and have started formally writing so I thought I would like to join in. Fridays do not seem to work for me, so as per my second choice name for this blog, Late to the Party, my Five Minute Friday is on a Saturday.The rules are: set a timer and free write for five minutes on word prompt, then share. So here goes.

Better… nothing initially comes to mind, no specific direction when I think of the word better.  Then it starts flowing… I want to be a better wife, better mother, better sister, better friend, better Christian. The word feels a bit oppressive and bullying reminding me how short I fall.

But then I think of the flip side… I am doing better at being a wife, at being a mother, sister, friend, Christian than I was. There is progress even if it is two steps forward and one step back. There is forward motion. Then there is the comfort of the one who began this good work in me will be faithful to complete it. (Philippians 1:6) This is His. It is even His to judge what is better. Better than what? He knows where I have been and where I am going. God holds my future in His hands. He has a better future than I could ever imagine. So instead of longing to be better, I long for the one who has a better future in store for me whether here or eternity. I long for the one who is better than I could ever imagine.

Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. Psalm 63:3

https://fiveminutefriday.com/2019/01/10/fmf-writing-prompt-better/

Save

2 thoughts on “Better (FMF Link-up)

  1. Love this! I had similar thoughts- who decides what is better? So often we strive to “do better” when in reality we aren’t so bad to start with. Happy to have you join us at FMF!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely LOVE this too! Sometimes we are so discouraged by the steps we have not yet taken that we lose sight of the forward progress we have already made. Thanks for the great (and very encouraging) reminder.

    Oh, and welcome to blogdom and FMF!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment